Guest Reviews

Morten
Copenhagen , DK
Reviewed: Apr 27, 2017
Property Manager
Travelled with 2 children (8 and 10) Very nice and functional apartment. Very well situated in the quiet part of the resort and pretty close to the swimming pool. Kitchen had all the amenities for making light meals. Good fridge and freezer for ice cubes. A real bonus was the water cleaning system under the kitchen sink. Saved us from going to the shops in town to get drinking water. Perfect with the beach towels provided for us too. The beach and waves were too rough to go swimming, however it was possible at Bikini Beach (the bar on the sea with stone breakwater around it) just about 50 meters to the north. Mostly we went to the Santa Maria Beach in town which was perfect. Only a 10 minutes taxi (3 euro) or hotel shuttle (free) ride. Taxi is very easy and you don't have to bargain or hackle as the price is fixed. The first couple of days the local guys in town will greet you with "Don't you recognize me? I work at your resort. Can I help you?" They usually don't work at your resort or recognize you - only your resort bracelet. They don't hassle you. Are quite nice but would of course like to earn a euro or two. Our favorite restaurant was Creparia Sol Doce at the pier (only open for lunch and closed Wednesday). If you like crepes and fresh orange juice and good coffee. This is the place. The best though is their grilled fish with home cut fries. If you are a connoisseur ask for Barriga de atum (tunas belly) which is a special piece of meat from below the head. Very very delicious. So are their tuna steaks, wahoo and amberjack. We can also highly recommend going for an island trip with the only female taxi driver on Sal. Her name is Tete and she calls herself Taxi Lady (ask to be picked up by her if you book transfer from airport). We communicated with her via (SENSITIVE CONTENTS HIDDEN). All in all a very good stay in Capo Verde.
View Property: Tortuga Beach Resort - 2 Bedroom Apartment
Rebecca
Unknown, ZZ, GB
Reviewed: Apr 25, 2017
Property Manager
Thanks to Frankie, Olana, Honey, and Anna for looking after us! This was our first visit to Cape Verde and we will definitely go back! AJP are a great property letting company. They are professional and very helpful. AJP were great and looked after us really well. We left our buggy at the airport and the taxi driver Honey went back to get it for us. It would have been a pain to go get it myself so I was really relieved. They also stocked our fridge with wine, beer and breakfast so we didn't have to go straight to the shop. They were always there on whats app if we had any questions. I highly recommend!
Property
The apartment at Tortuga beach resort was great. It was close to the pools and about a 5 minute walk to the beach. We went self catered which was more work than buying the inclusive food at the resort but it worked for us as we have two small kids. There is one small supermarket in Santa Maria that sells most things you need.
View Property: Tortuga Beach Resort - 2 Bedroom Apartment
Julie
Reviewed: Jan 12, 2017
Property Manager
The owners were very helpful and friendly.
Property
A spacious apartment with all modern fixtures and fittings. Very clean and had washing machine and a balcony. The resort is five star Ideal for a family. Heated swimming pool and right on the beach.
View Property: Tortuga Beach Resort - 2 Bedroom Apartment
Phillip
Reviewed: Jan 11, 2017
Property Manager
Hey so I thought I would write a review of my stay in Cape Verde with AJP. I visited CV the last two weeks of Nov'16. I stayed in an apartment right in the heart of Sal,Santa Maria managed by AJP Holiday Lets. My contact at AJP (Oana) was wonderful and very helpful in hooking me up with local tour guides and activities as well as showing me where the local shops are, but I still got lost a few times lol. Also Oana (AJP) was always contactable for any questions or issues I had during my stay which put my mind at ease as I was traveling alone. Overall I guess the question is "Would I stay there again?" Hell Yes and "Would I recommend AJP and their apartment?" again Hell Yes 5 out of 5 stars I might even need to plan another visit at some point haha
Property
The apartment was well furnished and had all the amenities that I could of hoped for but what I really loved was how close to everything I was. I could pretty much roll out of bed and land on the main road where all the bars and eateries are in Santa Maria, which really helped after a good night out as getting home was easy. One thing which I was surprised that I liked was that there was always people about and that I always felt in the middle of the action where I stayed and that I wasn't in the middle of nowhere. You also don't have that overly clinical look/feel from one of the resort hotels, which I know some people can like but isn't really for me as I prefer the more natural local feel. So if I was going to list any negatives they would be that at night (Friday/Saturday) if you are having an early night you will still hear all the music at a couple of the local bars which isn't a problem its just something to note. Also in the mornings because of some local construction sites the working sounds can bother you a bit if you have a slight hangover, but hey just go to the beach to work that off also they were pretty close to completion when I left so isn't exactly a long term issue. Speaking of the beach you are right there and the pier where you can get fresh fish is barely 5min walk, which can be a great way to start the morning. Or right around the corner from my place was this type of bakery which was really cool as I love the smell of fresh bread/deserts in the morning lol.
View Property: Santa Maria Town Centre - 1 Bedroom Apartment
Charlotte
Reviewed: Jan 2, 2017
Property Manager
I would highly recommend staying with these guys. They are amazing!! The place was better then described. The communication with both Henry and Frankie was spot on. Given that everything is imported in Sal when I asked for things they delivered. They were very attentive to our needs. The place itself was high end, clean and lovely. It's away from the complex so it's very peaceful and you still have your privacy. 100% use these guys.
View Property: Tortuga Beach Resort - 2 Bedroom Apartment
Isabel
Reviewed: Jan 2, 2017
Property Manager
Everything was as described in the advert and the airport service and check in and out were excellent, we really liked the location with numerous restaurants and bars within from 100 meters of the property, All in all a perfect stay, Best regards, Isabel
View Property: Leme Bedje - 1 Bedroom Apartment
Victoria
Reviewed: Jan 1, 2017
Property Manager
We have just returned back from villa 38 on Melia Tourtuga and all I can say is what a lovely villa. It has everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The 3 bedrooms are a good size with ample clothing space, and 2 bathrooms and showers, and a bath with over shower in the en - suite. Plenty of towels are provided including beach towels. The open planned downstairs is big and spacious and has a feel good factor about it, as the owners pictures will prove. There is a dvd player and a wii, however you do need to bring the discs. But plenty of books if your in the mood for a good read and have forgotten your own. The kitchen area has a washer, which I have to admit I used almost daily and ran out of my own capsules, luckily the supermarket across the road of Tourtuga and through the new block of villas provides you with this, plus other items. But remember this is not like our local village shops, these people can only get certain things so you will be shopping around. (More on this later ) it also has a dishwasher, a water filter tap and under the sink there are a few cleaning materials, my washing powder included. Also, you get a food basket, which includes milk, eggs, bread, ham, cheese, fruit juice, and to start your holiday off, some beer and wine. The plunge pools depth is at around the average height of a woman so if you do have kids do not leave them unsupervised. It is not heated either, so just duck yourself in and trust me you'll be fine. Just before we arrived to the villa Frankie (who may I say has been golden) informed me that drinks and food can be purchased at the resort, all you need to do is give them your card details at reception, then at the end of the holiday you pay for what you have consumed. However, if they have not given you a receipt then the items you have had will not be billed to you. SANTA MARIA. I do hope that as your staying in a villa that you do go to this town and eat and drink here. There are plenty of places to eat, The Frog and Barracuda are a couple of good eating places.however, we all have different food preferences so what we like, you may not. A taxi cost 3 during the day and 4 when at darkness. There are also banks, cash machines and every place we went to excepted euros, but they do give change in escudos. It's up to you if you want to change your money, we didn't, again it is up to yourselves. As mentioned it did take us a few days to find a supermarket. However, there are plenty, but you do need to shop around, you can get bread at one store, alcohol in another and so forth. But if you fancy an English fry up in the villa take baked beans with you. I never found a tin. All in all, I do highly recommend this villa, it has been real home from home and Henry and his team are easy to get in touch with (if your phone doesn't decide to send emails a week later). It has been a pleasure staying at this villa and I do hope if you decide to book then you too can discover an island that is soon to be vastly changed by the many tourists who will be visiting this island in the next few years. Thank you for reading. And thank you Henry and Frankie and all the team Kindest regards Victoria
View Property: Tortuga Beach Resort Villa
Aubrey
Reviewed: Aug 11, 2016
Property Manager
From the initial contact with Henry he was extremely professional, incredibly patient answering all my questions and arranged all transfers and a great welcome pack of food for our arrival. Henry was very careful not to over commit in terms of what the island had to offer in terms of restaurants and shops for self catering and it was a great surprise to find everything was significantly better than we expected. Anna who works for Henry at AJP Holiday lets looked after all our needs whilst we were in resort and was very attentive with anything we needed. You can really tell how good a business is when you have an issue and we had a small problem with a blocked toilet and this was fixed very quickly without fuss. Anna is a local Cape Verdean lady who works for Henry who is always smiling with a great attitude/work ethic who has great local knowlege. Frankie ( Henrys daughter) emailed us before our holiday confirming all the details and put us in touch with Amy at the Surf Hub in Santa Maria who again was fantastic arranging all our trips and for far better pricing than anything Thomson could do.
Property
Just wanted to say a big thankyou to Henry, Frankie and Anna at AJP Holiday Lets for a fantastic two weeks at one of their fabulous properties a 3 bed villa at the Melia Tortuga Beach Resort Cape Verde. Have to say I was a little nervous when first booking as our initial plan was to go through Thomsons all inclusive . We are a family of 5 with 3 girls aged 17, 15 and 10 all with different requirents and needs from a holiday. After reading initial reviews it appeared that Santa Maria wasnt geared up to self catering and their were limited options of restaurants in the evening. Another concern was the hygene levels of the local restaurants compared to that of the hotel. How wrong and misinformed we were. We worked out that the additional money AI at Thomsons would have cost us has enabled us to have total flexibility, eat out every evening in some supberb restaurants and fund a whole array of trips including Scuba Diving, the Island Tour, trip on a yacht, quad biking, evening turtle watching and surfing. Dont let anyone tell you there isnt much to do on this Island. On the restaurants there must be nearing a 100 bar and restaurants to choose from with most having hygiene 100 ( most nights considerably less). This inluded wine/cocktails and often lobster, fresh fish or steak . Not one of us were ill the whole two weeks we were there which was in contrast to a number of people we spoke to at the hotel who were on AI. There is a local shop less than 5 mins walk from reception and a bigger supermarket in Santa Maria. Again dont listen to anyone who tells you the shops are limited. Yes it isnt M & S standard but there is plenty of choice with most basic food items available. The accomodation represented superb value for money and was the best we had ever stayed in. A huge 3 bedroom town house with 3 bathrooms and its own pool and a fresh water filter system that meant we didnt have to buy bottled water. A great complex if you avoid AI. You can arrange meals on site and have drinks if you wish by registering your credit card at reception but for 7 return in a taxis you can get into Santa Maria which is 5 mins away so I wouldnt waste your money eating on site. Cape Verde has been voted one of the safest places in the world to visit at the moment and again ignore references to being hassled. Like any holiday destination the locals want you to buy there trinkets but they are friendly and if you are firm they do not bother you at all. To summarise a great holiday venue, fantastic accomodation through AJPHoliday lets and loads of options for eating and drinking. If you want a boring holiday, locked into an expensive AI option then book Thomsons. If you want a real Cape Verde experience and take advantage of the very best the island can offer then book a villa through Henry and go self catering. Thanks again for amazing service from booking our holiday to the very end, fantistic accomodation and a really unforgettable holiday. The Jones Family
View Property: Tortuga Beach Resort Villa